Schengen Area

The Schengen area is an area without internal borders, within which you can move freely, with certain exceptions. It is made up of the following states: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Other member states of the European Union or the European Economic Area, that is Bulgaria, Croatia, Ireland, Cyprus, Romania and the United Kingdom, are not members of the Schengen area.

Do you want to travel within the Schengen area?

If your home country does not have a visa requirement for Schengen states, you are free to arrive in Schengen area members just with a valid travel passport and to reside here for 90 days during every 180-day period.

If you need a visa to enter the Schengen area, you can do so with a short-term visa (also called a Schengen visa), a long-term visa issued in the CR, a long-term or a permanent residence permit and a valid travel document. You may spend up to 90 days in the territory of other member states of the Schengen area during every 180-day period.

Are you travelling outside the Schengen area?

Then you need to find out whether the state to which you want to travel has a visa requirement for your home country.