Home Contacts Offices City Districts

City Districts

In this part you will learn about how Prague is divided into administrative districts. In the General Information section you will find information about the internal functions of city districts, their bodies, representatives and powers. We will also tell you whom to contact if necessary. In the Individual City Districts chapter we will provide you with a description of all the city districts and mention integrational activities organised by individual city districts. In the Contacts section we will give you useful contacts, including websites, a lot of which provide information in foreign languages (English, Russian, Vietnamese etc.).

The capital of Prague consists of 57 self-governing city districts, which are further divided into 22 self-governing administrative units. Each city district has its own office which carries out self-governing activities and exercises delegated powers.

Names, the area and scope of activities of city districts are specified by the Statute of the Capital City of Prague, issued by a generally binding regulation. The updated version of the Statute is available here.